RECEIVEND



2017 JUL 19 PM

July 17, 2017 IVE

Mr. John Auerbach, Chairman Franklin Township Board of Supervisors PO Box 118 20 Municipal Lane Kemblesville, PA 19347

Dear Mr. Auerbach:

This is in response to your letter dated June 23, 2017, in which you requested that the department consider making the intersection of Appleton and Strickersville Roads an all-way stop condition.

An all-way stop intersection may be approved based on an analysis of the most recent reportable and non-reportable (when available) crash reports, traffic volumes or if it is determined that non-correctable sight distances are deficient and reasonable improvements or the installation of warning signs will not address the noted deficiencies. Additionally, the installation/approval of stop signs are not to be used to control vehicular speeds. Improper or unwarranted Stop signs can result in excessive disobedience of the traffic control signs, excessive delays, and increased use of less adequate routes.

Past studies of this intersection have indicated that an all-way stop condition is not warranted based on PennDOT regulations/guidelines.

The department is in the process of conducting a re-evaluation of traffic conditions at this intersection. However, to conclude our study and render a decision on whether an all-way stop is warranted, the department is awaiting the submission of nonreportable crash reports from the Pennsylvania State Police for crashes that have occurred at this intersection. Once we receive this information, the department will notify you with our recommendations.

If an all-way stop is found to be not warranted, the department will implement enhanced pavement markings and signing as a low-cost safety improvement to provide warning to motorists along Appleton Road approaching the intersection of Stricklersville Road.

Mr. John Auerbach, Chairman Franklin Township Board of Supervisors Page 2 July 17, 2017

Should you require additional information, please contact Mr. Donald Centofante, Traffic Studies Supervisor, at

Sincerely,

Kent M. Mccus

Kenneth M. McClain District Executive 6-0

CC: Honorable Andrew Dinniman Honorable John Lawrence Penelope Schenk, Vice Chairman, Franklin Township Board of Supervisors Donna Dea, Member, Franklin Township Board of Supervisors David Snyder, Member, Franklin Township Board of Supervisors Steffen Torres, Member, Franklin Township Board of Supervisors